There is a Reason Why Popular Things are So Popular!

We all tend to make fun of the latest trends and fads, putting ourselves above the ‘following the herd mentality’ we all think that so many have. I, like many, make fun of just about everything that is popular. The older I get the more I realize there is a reason why Popular things are so popular!  In my younger days I used to make fun of the noise and stench of a Harley and how everyone that sits on one desperate attempt to achieve coolness.  Than we did a dance which we had to rent 2 Harley’s and I made the mistake of  riding on one.  The noise, the smell, the bad-boy (for some) desperately trying to be cool reputation didn’t matter, it was just damn fun to ride….and yes two weeks later I bought my first Harley.

I found the same thing to be true about BMW’s.  I used to laugh at the yuppies spending every dime they have just to drive a BMW.  I thought to my self, “I hope someone shoots me if I ever get so hung-up on Labels and brands I buy a BMW”.  Then I test drove one with my wife and I found out there is a reason why so many people will spend their last dime to drive one.  I can honestly say the tag line of “the ultimate driving machine” really isn’t far from the truth.  Thank god my wife waited to a point in our lives when I could actually afford one.

As I get older I have discovered that expensive wine really does taste better than the cheaper wine I used to drink.  I have found that almost everything I used to make fun of (in most cases because I couldn’t afford it back then) really is so popular because it is really good.  The reason for today’s revelation is because as I write this post, I am sitting in a Starbucks.  No one, and I mean no one has made fun of Starbucks and it’s hoards of fans like I have, but I can say sitting here I see why it is so popular.  I had a meeting which ended early and I am going to a game which doesn’t start for about an hour in a half and both were on the same side of town.  I saw a nearby Starbucks and came inside.  For a $3 cup of coffee I have enjoyed a nice mini-office with free internet for an hour in a half.  I finished a lot of work and I now understand why my sons come here, although I will of course continue to make fun of them! Enlightenment doesn’t mean you have to give up making fun of the ones you love!

~ by jeffsmithbooks on October 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
